## IOWA'S ADVISORY COUNCIL ON AUTOMATED TRANSPORTATION







Iowa Advisory Council on Automated Transportation Iowa Department of Transportation

March 2023

# 1. PURPOSE

The Iowa Advisory Council on Automated Transportation is intended to increase roadway safety, personal mobility, and freight movement within the state of Iowa by advancing highly automated vehicle technologies. The Council shall provide guidance, recommendations, and strategic oversight of automated transportation activities in the state.

#### **Vision Statement**

To create an AV-ready driving environment in Iowa for the safe movement of people and freight for a thriving Iowa economy.

### **Mission Statement**

Lead, coordinate, and enable the advancement of automated transportation systems in Iowa.

## 2. STRATEGIC GOALS

### The Council will focus on the following strategic goals:

- Function as a catalyst and forum for automated transportation systems and automated vehicle (AV) technologies
- Discuss policy and strategies to further effective and successful research, development, testing, operation, and implementation of AVs in the state of Iowa
- Provide coordinated feedback on AVs to both public and private entities
- Promote testing and deployment and remove barriers
- Provide a forum for education and outreach on automated transportation systems and AVs

Fulfillment of the Council's strategic goals will benefit all travelers in several ways:

- Improved cooperation and collaboration among partners regarding automated transportation, thereby better serving the public
- Expedited policy and resource alignment, improved transportation mobility, and a thriving economy
- Fewer crashes and safer highways for all lowans and travelers

### 3. SUBCOMMITTEES & WORKING GROUPS

Four subcommittees and two cross-cutting working groups, overseen by and reporting to the Council, will provide in-depth resources and insights on topics related the implementation of automated vehicle transportation and technologies. These subcommittees & working groups correspond to the six objective areas developed in the 2020 Iowa Automated Transportation Vision.



Figure 1 ATC Strategic Objective Areas

## 4. MEMBERSHIP

The following table shows membership as of March 2023.

Council Seat/Focus	Department/Organization	Member
Council Chair	lowa Department of Transportation	Scott Marler, Director
Public Safety & Enforcement Subcommittee Chair	lowa Department of Public Safety	Nathan Fulk, Colonel
Economic Development Subcommittee Chair	Iowa Economic Development Authority & Iowa Finance Authority	Rick Peterson, Chief Operations Officer
Infrastructure Readiness Subcommittee Chair	lowa League of Cities	Erin Mullenix, Research Director
Policy & Legislation Subcommittee Chair	Des Moines Area MPO	Dylan Mullenix, Assistant Director
Research, Development, Testing & Evaluation Working Group Chair	lowa Department of Transportation	<b>Peggi Knight</b> , Director, Research & Analytics Bureau
Communications, Outreach, & Education Working Group Chair	lowa Department of Transportation	Andrea Henry, Director, Strategic Communications
Public Safety	lowa Department of Public Safety	Stephan Bayens, Commissioner
Public Safety	lowa Motor Truck Association	Brenda Neville, Director Delegate: Allison Meiners, Director of Safety & Member Services
Economic Development	Iowa Economic Development Authority & Finance Authority	Debi Durham, Director
Economic Development	Des Moines Area Community College	Rob Denson, President
Economic Development	Technology Association of Iowa (TAI)	Brian Waller, Director
Economic Development	lowa Association of Business and Industry	Mike Ralston, President
Economic Development	Iowa Workforce Development	<b>Beth Townsend</b> , Director <b>Delegate: Kathy Anderson</b> , Deputy Division Administrator, Business Engagement
Infrastructure Readiness	Associated General Contractors of Iowa	Andy Warren, Executive Vice President Delegate: Ron Otto, Technical Director
Infrastructure Readiness	lowa Communications Network (ICN)	Randy Goddard, Director Delegate: Eric Porter, Network Engineer
Policy & Legislation	Iowa Department of Revenue	Kraig Paulsen, Director
Policy & Legislation	Iowa Public Transit Association	Carl Lingen, Director

Council Seat/Focus	Department/Organization	Member
Policy & Legislation	Iowa Bicycle Coalition	Mark Wyatt, Director
Policy & Legislation	Des Moines International Airport	Brian Mulcahy, Assistant Executive Director
Policy & Legislation & Economic Development	Freight Advisory Council	Mike Steenhoek, Chair
Policy & Legislation	lowa Insurance Division (IID)	Doug Ommen, Commissioner Delegates: Jared Kirby, Deputy Commissioner Travis Grassel, Actuary Chance McElhaney, Legislative Liaison
Policy & Legislation	Iowa State Association of Counties	Shane Walters, Board Member
Policy & Legislation	lowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship	Colin Tadlock, Legislative Liaison
Policy & Legislation	lowa Department of Natural Resources	Kayla Lyon, Director Delegate: Todd Coffelt, Legislative Liaison
Research (University)	Driving Safety Research Institute, University of Iowa	Dan McGehee, Director & Associate Professor Omar Ahmad, Deputy Director
Research (University)	Institute for Transportation, Iowa State University	Shauna Hallmark, Director & Professor Neal Hawkins, Associate Director
Ex Officio	Federal Highway Administration, Iowa Division	Tim Marshall, Division Administrator Dave Johnson, Deputy Division Administrator John Gibson, Transportation Specialist
Ex Officio	Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration	Shirley McGuire, Division Administrator
Ex Officio	National Highway Traffic Safety Administration	Susan DeCourcy, Regional Administrator, Region 7
Ex Officio	American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators	Paul Steier, Director, Vehicle Programs
Ex Officio	Highly Automated Systems Safety Center of Excellence, USDOT	Ashley Nylen, Senior Strategist, Surface Automation & Safety
Ex Officio	Iowa House	Vacant
Ex Officio	Iowa Senate	Sen. Chris Cournoyer (R)
Ex Officio	Iowa Senate	Sen. Zach Wahls (D)

# 5. ORGANIZATION

- · Council membership is approved by the Chair.
- Council membership will be evaluated as needed; a review and update of the charter membership will be conducted annually.
- Term limits will not apply to general, voluntary membership of the council.
- Council and subcommittee meetings will be held up to three times per year.

- Meeting agendas will be cooperatively developed by the council and subcommittee chairs with support from the organizing team.
- Working groups and the organizing team will meet as needed to support the functions of the council and subcommittees.
- Meetings will generally be held virtually, but may be held in person at the discretion of the council or subcommittee chair.

# 6. RESPONSIBILITIES

- Serve as an advisory body to state and local government agencies involved in automated transportation activities.
- Support the development and maintenance of the lowa Automated Transportation Vision.
- The lowa DOT director serves as the chair. The chair will identify a delegate to facilitate the council meetings.
- Subcommittee and working group chairs will facilitate their respective meetings and utilize the organizing team to plan and prepare for meetings.
- Council members participate in meetings, support the council, and share takeaways with their stakeholder groups.

- Subcommittee members are engaged stakeholders encouraged to participate and support conversations during subcommittee and council meetings.
- The organizing team is led by the Automated Transportation Program Manager including other key staff from the Iowa Department of Transportation, with support from academic research partners at Iowa State University and the University of Iowa, and will be responsible for supporting the council, subcommittee, and working groups in making meeting arrangements and developing agendas.